Well, it is official.
My primary doctor has stated that I should not have gluten anymore. I go to see a GI doctor in a couple weeks to discuss it. Whether anything will be figured out for sure is up in the air.
Either way, I am gluten intolerant.
I do not plan to turn this blog into a gluten free recipe blog.
If you find a good cup for cup gluten free all purpose flour, you can still make the recipes on here.
Certain things, such as cinnamon rolls probably won’t turn out right.
That is one thing I may need to experiment with.
Gluten is in wheat, barley, rye, and oats may be contaminated unless they are labeled GF. There is also the reading of the labels and knowing what certain terms mean. Tocopherols, or vitamin E, may come from wheat germ oil and that gets added to chapstick sometimes. Brewer’s yeast is a by-product of making beer and may be grown on wheat or barley.
Some chocolates are made with barley malt as a sweetener. Corn flakes and Rice Krispies also contain barley malt.
I also have to watch cross contamination. If it is something with no gluten but uses shared equipment, it could be a problem.
This is going to take awhile to get it all sorted out.
All of this has taken a toll on my energy level.
Between that and the holidays, I just have not gotten much accomplished on here.